CLICK HERE FOR THOUSANDS OF FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES »

Monday, February 18, 2008

So tell me.

So please tell me. What kind of society do we live in that we can't help people in fear that we will get hurt in the process? You pass a hitchhiker on the side of the road and don't help...why? Because you don't know them--they could be serial killers after all. And you're plagued with that feeling farther down the road that maybe that person needed you. You could have made a difference in their life at that second..just by giving them a ride. But we tend to look out for ourselves and no one else, thats how we survive after all. You can't give a homeless person money because they will use it for drugs or alcohol rather than food or shelter. We can't just help each other in those ways. Society sucks. Everything is simply a double edged blade--it will cut you either way.

I personally have never had a problem with our police force. They've done their job. They've kept me safe. But now I have very little faith. And I guess I shouldn't really say the police force in general...I don't really know what to call the people at the regional jail (not all of them). There is always going to be those people who abuse their power just because they can--and they ruin it for everyone. Who said that just because a person was in jail that they did not deserve the right to be treated fairly? I confess that I've always thought that it was ridiculous that inmates had cable tv and I didn't. But those things are luxuries and I'm not going into that right now. I am going to question where do they get the right to take an inmate with psychological problems off of their medications and expect them to be ok? How can they live with themselves seeing them going through withdrawls of drugs that they actually need...their prescribed medications from actual doctors and psychaitrists. These are the drugs that allow them to lead a semi-normal life--the medications which allow them to control themselves when they couldn't otherwise. To take those away and leave them in the phsyical condition of pain and messes up their bodys enough to go into seizures....seizures bad enough to mess them up neurologically if they live through the heart attacks and other phsycial effects thats happening because their bodies can not take the stress. That is more than wrong. Its immoral. And to deny their families their right to see their son, brother, or cousin while they are in this condition--possibly dying in a hospital is completely unethical. Denying them the right to see them when the hospital itself begs because they know they need the contact--the familiarity, to simply pull through this...it honestly makes me hate whoever makes the decision. Hate them with all of my being. Its not just something that can be forgiven..even if he pulls out of it. Even if he is ok. But of course we can't know that yet.

I should probably go ahead and say that its not confirmed that they denied my brother's medicines. But look at the condition he is in, the fact that he was saying he wasn't getting them, and the fact that the doctor said that he thought thats what it was--he said he had to choose (based on Ben's condition) whether or not he was getting them...

My mom and cousin drove the 5 hours to Richmond yesterday to try to get in and see Ben. The guard wouldn't let them. How insanely cruel is that?