CLICK HERE FOR THOUSANDS OF FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES »

Sunday, March 2, 2008

It was a hard day.

We just got home a few minutes ago. We learned more about the brain injury. His fevers aren't caused by the pneumonia like we thought. They are actually because of the brain damage. They had him off of the ventilator today..just the trach collar but I think at night they hook him back up to the ventilator...weaning him off of it. We had to wear the gowns and gloves and such to go in the room. I blacked out within the first few minutes of being in there. I didn't actually pass out but it came quite close--I couldn't see or hear anything for a few minutes. but I managed to get my gloves off and for some reason that helped. It was hard to see him like that. It really was. He did open his eyes after we'd been there for about 3 hours. He honestly acted like he knew who we were and wanted to talk (moved his mouth around). Momma said my name and he looked at me. I don't think seeing that was wishful thinking. That was however the biggest response we got out of him. We talked to him and read him his letters, but mainly we just tried to keep him comfortable--cold wet rag on his forehead and cut his fingernails since he keeps clenching his hands and its starting to rub the skin. Tried to keep him from rubbing his feet together when he was kicking them. They're all blistered and raw where that keeps happening--they've got them bandaged and padded now but still. He opened his eyes a few more times but it wasn't quite like that first time. Thats about it I guess. We were there from 9 to 4..took 7 hours to get home instead of 5 because Bill somehow missed the huge merging of the interstates.

It was a hard day.

3 comments:

j said...

Oh Rachel. Sweetie, I just wish that I could give you a hug, sit you down on my couch, and let you talk, or cry, or just sit in silence. I feel like you need someone to BE there for you. I wish that there was something that I could DO. But I can do this; I can pray. And pray. And pray.

How did your brother receive damage to his brain? His illness is such a mystery to me.

I read where you said that your mom took care of him and did all that she could do. And he was in jail, right?

That sounds like my husbands mother and hubby's younger brother. He had emotional problems all his life and he wound up an alcoholic. He is in jail right now for causing an accident in which a man was killed. There is a history of him driving under the influence, almost died onec from an accident. so far, being in jail has been a blessing for him. He has been clean and sober and more coherent than he's been in a long time!
Anyway, I understand about people that we love being in jail. That is why I just told you all of this.

Be blessed Rachel, and let me know how I can be a friend and help you. Jennifer

j said...

Thank you for letting me know. I am not the brightest star in the universe (quoting a friend) but nor am I an intellectual black hole (don't you love the phrasing? She's a nut).
Your clarification, in a nutshell made me less apt to try to figure my questions out and more able to read your words to hear your feelings and thoughts. I hope you have a lovely Sunday! Jen

TRD said...

Hey Rachael, sorry to hear you had a rough day. As with Jennifer, I wish there was something I could do as well. We (blog community of friends) are all here for you, I'm sure of it. I am to at a mystery as to what is the cause of everything, if you don't mind letting me know. (I'm assuming you emailed Jenn..) If not, regardless, I wish him the best, and strength and courage for your family (your mom and yourself in particular)

Hope things get better, keep your head up.

-Rob